Have you ever been in a hurry to get somewhere and forgot to grab your driver’s license? In today’s fast-paced world, it’s almost guaranteed to happen at some point in life. If you’re lucky, you’ll be able to get where you’re going and back with no problem, but what if you get pulled over when you don’t have your license with you or if you get caught driving on a suspended license? Here’s what you should know about what could happen to you if you’re caught driving without a license in California, and when you should consult with a suspended license attorney.
Penalties for Forgetting Your License
According to California Vehicle Code Section 12500 VC, you could be criminally prosecuted if you’re caught driving without a license. Offenders can potentially be charged with an infraction or a misdemeanor. If you’re charged with an infraction, you could be charged up to $250 in fines. If you’re charged with a misdemeanor, you could receive a fine up to $1,000 or up to six months in county jail. A Sacramento traffic ticket lawyer can help you understand the charges against you and how you can fight them most effectively.
Penalties for Driving on a Suspended License
If you’re caught driving without a license because yours has been suspended, you won’t be charged for driving without a license but you will likely be charged with driving on a suspended license, which is a more serious offense. Under Vehicle Code 14601 VC, driving on a suspended license is a misdemeanor and you could receive substantial fines or time in county jail. The penalty for driving on a suspended license is largely dependent on the reason your license was suspended in the first place.
There are some legal defenses you can use to fight a charge of driving on a suspended license. To fully understand your options, you may want to consult with a suspended license lawyer. He or she can help you choose a legal defense that will give you the best chance of successfully fighting the charge against you.